The official website of the bestselling Edge Chronicles series by Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell

The Descenders

The thrilling conclusion to Stewart and Riddell’s multi-bestselling epic fantasy series!

Cade Quarter has spent the last few years of his life running from an enemy he’s never even met – the ruthless and power-hungry High Professor of Flight, Quove Lentis. But Quove’s deadly agenda has finally caught up with Cade, and now he must leave his home and flee once more, this time to the legendary floating city of New Sanctaphrax.

But even reuniting with his uncle, Nate Quarter, isn’t the end of Cade’s troubles – and now, more than ever, he must find the courage to defy his enemies, unite his friends, and unlock the secrets of descending.

Download an extract of The Descenders.


Doombringer is the second book of the Cade saga – the fourth trilogy in the Edge Chronicles series.

Cade Quarter is building a new life for himself in the wild Farrow Ridges, miles away from civilization – and from the enemies who are seeking him. But when his new home is threatened by villainous mire-pearlers on board a sinister slave ship, the Doombringer, Cade and his friends must find a way to defend the land they love, and the wise and beautiful secrets it holds.

The Winter Knights

The Winter Knights is the second book of the Quint saga – the first trilogy in the Edge Chronicles.

Quint Verginix has enrolled as a squire in the Knight’s Academy. After his training he will be able to pilot stormchaser sky-ships into the heart of Great Storms, and retrieve the solidified lightning – stormphrax – to weigh down the floating rock on which Sanctaphrax is built. Since cold makes the rock more buoyant, and the Edgeworld is held in the grip of a long and cold winter more stormphrax than ever before is needed to keep the floating city stable. Many knights are being sent on stormchasing missions, but none return. As the city strains to break free of its tether, ancient feuds threaten to tear its people apart.

On his own, Quint can do nothing to help avert the impending disaster. But with the help of a band of loyal friends and secrets found in an ancient barkscroll, he might just be able to loosen the grip of the city’s never-ending winter.

Clash of the Sky Galleons

The Clash of the Sky Galleons is the third book of the Quint saga – the first trilogy in the Edge Chronicles.

Young sky-pirate Quint Verginix’s family was devastated when his mother and brothers were killed in a vicious arson attack. Now the treacherous quartermaster responsible, Turbot Smeal, has returned, and Quint and his father are determined to take revenge.

From the deserted quarries of the Edge Cliff to the lethal glades where flesh-eating bloodoak trees await their next meal, Quint’s deadly pursuit can only end in a clash of the sky galleons.


Freeglader is the third book of the Rook saga – the third trilogy in the bestselling Edge Chronicles.

Fleeing from the ruins of New Undertown, young librarian knight Rook Barkwater and his colleagues, Felix Lodd, Magda Burlix and his banderbear friends, must lead the escaping population to a new life in the Free Glades.

But perils aplenty lie ahead for the fleeing refugees, and Rook knows the journey will be full of danger. Meanwhile, in the Goblin Nations, the tribes are amassing for war. Will Rook be able to keep his friends, himself and their new lives safe?


Vox is the second book of the Rook saga – the third trilogy in the Edge Chronicles.

When young librarian knight Rook Barkwater is taken captive and forced to work for Vox Verlix – nominally the Most High Academe, but in reality no more than a prisoner – he stumbles across a terrible truth. Vox is brewing a plot to destroy the goblins and the shrykes at a stroke, so that he can seize control of the Edgeworld for himself.

Can Rook foil Vox’s plan and save the lives of his librarian friends and colleagues?

The Immortals

The Immortals is the explosive conclusion to the Quint, Twig and Rook sagas of the Edge Chronicles.

It’s five hundred years into the third age of flight and mighty phraxships steam across the immensity of the Deepwoods, plying their lucrative trade between the three great cities. Nate Quarter, a young Lamplighter from the mines of the Eastern Woods, is propelled on an epic journey of self-discovery that encompasses tournaments, battles, revolutions and a final encounter with the Immortals themselves.

This book concludes the Quint, Twig and Rook sagas but can also be used as a way for new readers to discover the series before going back to read the individual Twig, Rook and Quint trilogies.

The Nameless One

The Nameless One is the first book of the Cade saga – the fourth trilogy in the Edge Chronicles.

Cade Quarter has never met his uncle, the infamous ‘descender’ Nate Quarter, who years ago committed heresy by lowering himself over the cliff-face of the Edge. But Nate has returned, and the Academy of Flight is looking for revenge against all of his supporters – including Cade. So now Cade has to run.

With no money and nowhere else to go, Cade’s only option is to stow away aboard the Xanth Filatine – a mighty sky-ship bound for the city of Hive. But getting onto the ship is only the beginning of his troubles, as he runs afoul of thieving goblins, brutal skymarshals, and the threat of ‘skyfiring’ . . .

The Last of the Sky Pirates

The Last of the Sky Pirates is the first book of the Rook saga – the third trilogy in the Edge Chronicles.

Rook Barkwater lives in the network of sewer-chambers beneath Undertown, the bustling main city of the Edgeworld. He dreams of becoming a librarian knight, one of those sent out to explore the mysteries of their world. Somewhere out there lie the secrets of the past – including the lost floating city of Sanctaphrax – and hope for a future free from the fear of tyranny.

When his chance comes, Rook breaks all the rules and sets out on a journey to the Free Glades. His luck and determination lead him from one peril to another until he encounters a mysterious character – the last sky pirate – and is thrust into an extraordinary adventure.

Midnight Over Sanctaphrax

Midnight Over Sanctaphrax is the third book of the Twig saga, the second trilogy in the Edge Chronicles.

Twig Verginix has gained a formidable reputation as the young sky pirate captain who dared to sail over the Edge. But far out in open sky a storm is brewing. In its path lies Sanctaphrax – the great floating city tethered to the land by a massive chain.

Twig has learned of the approaching danger, but a perilous voyage destroys his sky ship, hurling his crew into and beyond the Deepwoods and robbing Twig of his memories. The race against the storm begins, as Twig struggles to reach Sanctaphrax and save its inhabitants before it is too late.