The Winter Knights

Series: The Quint Saga
First published: Sep 01 2005
Followed by: Clash of the Sky Galleons
Preceeded by: The Curse of the Gloamglozer

The Winter Knights is the second book of the Quint saga – the first trilogy in the Edge Chronicles.

Quint Verginix has enrolled as a squire in the Knight’s Academy. After his training he will be able to pilot stormchaser sky-ships into the heart of Great Storms, and retrieve the solidified lightning – stormphrax – to weigh down the floating rock on which Sanctaphrax is built. Since cold makes the rock more buoyant, and the Edgeworld is held in the grip of a long and cold winter more stormphrax than ever before is needed to keep the floating city stable. Many knights are being sent on stormchasing missions, but none return. As the city strains to break free of its tether, ancient feuds threaten to tear its people apart.

On his own, Quint can do nothing to help avert the impending disaster. But with the help of a band of loyal friends and secrets found in an ancient barkscroll, he might just be able to loosen the grip of the city’s never-ending winter.

Buy the book
Buy the book


  • “A story which cannot be set aside once it has begun”

    Through The Looking Glass

  • “If you haven't found the Edge Chronicles before now, come and leap in!”

    Children's Books Ireland

  • “Packed with action and adventure. There is a touch of the Lewis Carroll’s to its authors' enthusiastic and uninhibited inventiveness”


The Books

  • The Curse of the Gloamglozer
    The Quint Saga

  • The Winter Knights
    The Quint Saga

  • Clash of the Sky Galleons
    The Quint Saga

  • Beyond the Deepwoods
    The Twig Saga

  • Stormchaser
    The Twig Saga

  • Midnight Over Sanctaphrax
    The Twig Saga

  • The Last of the Sky Pirates
    The Rook Saga

  • Vox
    The Rook Saga

  • Freeglader
    The Rook Saga

  • The Immortals
    The Nate Saga

  • The Nameless One
    The Cade Saga

  • Doombringer
    The Cade Saga

  • The Descenders

View all books