The Last of the Sky Pirates

Series: The Rook Saga
First published: Sep 05 2002
Followed by: Vox
Preceeded by: Midnight Over Sanctaphrax

The Last of the Sky Pirates is the first book of the Rook saga the third trilogy in the Edge Chronicles.

Rook Barkwater lives in the network of sewer-chambers beneath Undertown, the bustling main city of the Edgeworld. He dreams of becoming a librarian knight, one of those sent out to explore the mysteries of their world. Somewhere out there lie the secrets of the past including the lost floating city of Sanctaphrax and hope for a future free from the fear of tyranny.

When his chance comes, Rook breaks all the rules and sets out on a journey to the Free Glades. His luck and determination lead him from one peril to another until he encounters a mysterious character the last sky pirate and is thrust into an extraordinary adventure.

Buy the book
Buy the book


  • “Once again the creation of the vast population of creatures and characters in skilful words and pictures is stupendous......surely in years to come new fantasy creations will be compared with Tolkien, Pratchett and Stewart/Riddell”

    School Librarian

  • “Exuberant fantasy”


  • “A book which excites, terrifies and enthrals the reader”

    Through the Looking

The Books

  • The Curse of the Gloamglozer
    The Quint Saga

  • The Winter Knights
    The Quint Saga

  • Clash of the Sky Galleons
    The Quint Saga

  • Beyond the Deepwoods
    The Twig Saga

  • Stormchaser
    The Twig Saga

  • Midnight Over Sanctaphrax
    The Twig Saga

  • The Last of the Sky Pirates
    The Rook Saga

  • Vox
    The Rook Saga

  • Freeglader
    The Rook Saga

  • The Immortals
    The Nate Saga

  • The Nameless One
    The Cade Saga

  • Doombringer
    The Cade Saga

  • The Descenders

View all books