Beyond the Deepwoods

Series: The Twig Saga
First published: Oct 01 1998
Followed by: Stormchaser
Preceeded by: Clash of the Sky Galleons

Beyond the Deepwoods is the first book of the Twig saga – the second trilogy in the Edge Chronicles.

Abandoned at birth in the perilous Deepwoods, Twig Verginix is brought up by a family of woodtrolls. One cold night Twig does what no woodtroll has ever done before. He strays from the path.

So begins a heart-stopping adventure that will take Twig through a nightmare world of fearsome goblins, bloodthirsty beasts and flesh-eating trees. Can he discover the truth about his past, and find out in what direction the path of his future will lead him?

Buy the book
Buy the book


  • “Stylishly creepy; at turns gorgeous, humo[u]rous, horrifying and awe-inspiring”

    Fantasy Book Review

  • “The narrative will cast a spell over readers from the beginning”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “If you are the kind of person who likes adventures and different types of monsters this is a great book for you!”

    The Guardian Book Reviews

The Books

  • The Curse of the Gloamglozer
    The Quint Saga

  • The Winter Knights
    The Quint Saga

  • Clash of the Sky Galleons
    The Quint Saga

  • Beyond the Deepwoods
    The Twig Saga

  • Stormchaser
    The Twig Saga

  • Midnight Over Sanctaphrax
    The Twig Saga

  • The Last of the Sky Pirates
    The Rook Saga

  • Vox
    The Rook Saga

  • Freeglader
    The Rook Saga

  • The Immortals
    The Nate Saga

  • The Nameless One
    The Cade Saga

  • Doombringer
    The Cade Saga

  • The Descenders

View all books